We sell 100% Genuine & New Books only!

Judges Of The Supreme Court Of India 1950–1989 at Meripustak

Judges Of The Supreme Court Of India 1950–1989 by George H Gadbois, Oxford Books India

Books from same Author: George H Gadbois

Books from same Publisher: Oxford Books India

Related Category: Author List / Publisher List

  • Price: ₹ 695.00/- [ 5.00% off ]

    Seller Price: ₹ 660.00

Estimated Delivery Time : 4-5 Business Days

Sold By: Meripustak      Click for Bulk Order

Free Shipping (for orders above ₹ 499) *T&C apply.

In Stock

We deliver across all postal codes in India

Orders Outside India

Add To Cart

Outside India Order Estimated Delivery Time
7-10 Business Days

  • We Deliver Across 100+ Countries

  • MeriPustak’s Books are 100% New & Original
  • General Information  
    Author(s)George H Gadbois
    PublisherOxford Books India
    Publish YearJuly 2016


    Oxford Books India Judges Of The Supreme Court Of India 1950–1989 by George H Gadbois

    Key Features:

    Covers the first forty years of functioning of the Supreme Court of India
    Presents biographies of the first ninety-three judges of the Supreme Court of India who served the court from its inception in 1950 to 1989
    Essays based on author's interviews with judges and their families
    Engaging and readable account of the lives and times of judges

    Table Of Contents:


    India’s Judicial Elite 


    Eighteen Courts and Ninety-Three Judges 
    I. The Kania Court (1950–1) 
    II. The Sastri Court (1951–4) 
    III. The Mahajan Court (1954) 
    IV. The Mukherjea Court (1954–6) 
    V. The Das Court (1956–9) 
    VI. The Sinha Court (1959–64) 
    VII. The Gajendragadkar Court (1964–6) 
    VIII. The Sarkar Court (1966) 
    IX. The Subba Rao Court (1966–7) 
    X. The Wanchoo Court (1967–8) 
    XI. The Hidayatullah Court (1968–70) 
    XII. The Shah Court (1970–1) 
    XIII. The Sikri Court (1971–3) 
    XIV. The Ray Court (1973–7) 
    XV. The Beg Court (1977–8) 
    XVI. The Chandrachud Court (1978–85) 
    XVII. The Bhagwati Court (1985–6) 
    XVIII. The Pathak Court (1986–9) 


    A Collective Portrait 
    I. Father’s Occupation 
    II. Caste 
    III. Economic Status 
    IV. Religion 
    V. States of Birth 
    VI. Region 
    VII. Education 
    VIII. Indian Civil Service Officers 
    IX. Professional Careers 
    X. Participation in Politics 
    XI. Arrival on the High Court 
    XII. High Court Seniority 
    XIII. Age and Tenure 
    XIV. After Retirement 
    The Archetypal Judge 


    Appendix I Judges of the Supreme Court of India, 1950–89 

    Appendix II Chief Justices of India, 1950–89 




    About the Author

    Book Successfully Added To Your Cart